Mission Impostor-ble: Tips for Overcoming Impostor Syndrome From a Fellow Impostor, Part I

Mission Impostor-ble: Tips for Overcoming Impostor Syndrome From a Fellow Impostor, Part I

Impostor Syndrome is everywhere. Not a single person that's had the courage to try something new has been left untouched by Impostor Syndrome. As I'm typing this, I am thinking to myself "why am I doing this?! There are already so many blogs, videos, tweets, books, etc. about Impostor Syndrome and these people are probably WAAAAY smarter and have their stuff together." But luckily, before I start to really spiral down this dangerous path of self-doubt, I remember that I have some actual strategies I've devised to combat this often debilitating feeling of inadequacy!

Before I share my wisdom on Impostor Syndrome, we've got to go undercover. Deep undercover.

I wrestled with this bit here, wondering if this would be too gimmicky or cringey. At some point, I realized that I was taking myself way too seriously. When we take ourselves too seriously, we tend to be more defensive when our knowledge or approach is challenged. When we become defensive, we shut out opportunities for growth and greatness. So let's allow ourselves to be a little silly, but open to potentially new and useful information.

Let's set the stage: we are spies, fresh out of spy school (but still learning, no doubt) and ready to tackle our first assignment. We are literal impostors sent to collect and decipher some very valuable information. How we achieve this goal may be mystifying, as we're still quite green to all this. We'd often imagined ourselves being the next James Bond or Mata Hari, and now's our chance to prove it! No pressure, right?

So let's get started, Agent Impostor, and be the best spies we can be! The debriefing for this mission will be broken down into multiple objectives. Each new objective in our debriefing will focus on a special tip or insight you may find useful. Remember that not all parts of this debriefing will be easy, but if executed well will be worth it. Good luck, Agent. I know you've got what it takes to tackle this mission!

Objective #1: Infiltrate A Strong Community

This objective seems deceptively simple, but strategy matters here. Gathering intel on our own is possible, but often slower and more frustrating. We already have intricate webs of allies just waiting to embrace and cultivate our burgeoning skills, we just need to track these communities down. If need be, take some time to really think about your personal goals. Write it down, create charts/graphs/vision boards, whatever helps you forge a path that will lead you to your goals. Then research which groups would be most useful to your objectives and ask to join.

Asking to connect to a community can be intimidating, but you'll quickly find that networking is essential to, well, most things. Keep in mind that even the most legendary spies are more approachable than they might seem. They are still just people and struggle with a lot of the same fears and insecurities that you do.

On a recent mission, Project Fullstack [JavaScript], I made contact with #100Devs, an enormous collective of thriving impostors just like me! Lucky for you, they are always happy to make contact with new recruits: #100Devs Discord Channel

The #100Devs community has been a great space for me to feel more confident as I try, fail, and succeed (at various intervals and in no particular order). It wasn't until I really started engaging in the community that I genuinely began to see my abilities transform. Some even offered to make third-party connections in order to help me be successful in my upcoming Mission: 1 Job Plz. It's important to remember that these types of communities thrive with 2-way communication. So don't forget to share your own tips and tricks, and ask lots of questions! Even when you're worried that you have nothing to contribute, you will be surprised at how much value your engagement can bring to the entire community. On top of that, it helps you hone a very crucial skill: accepting critical feedback. So Shoot your shot!

Just remember not to get discouraged by some of those gate-keeper agents. They might boast about their elite training at a different facility and convince you that your unorthodox or modern pathway isn't legit. Those agents can go on Mission: STFU all by themselves. Their words are a reflection of them, not you. Don't let these folx take your time and energy, instead find supportive operatives that remember what it's like to be a fallible, learning human with an ambitious agenda. Finding the right community may take a couple of attempts, but it is well worth the effort. I've found the best results through things like meetups, attending virtual events, and following people on Twitter that are doing what I want to do.

Good luck, Agent Impostor! Get out there and make connections!

END OF TRANSMISSION. PLEASE STAY TUNED FOR YOUR NEXT OBJECTIVE, AGENT IMPOSTOR!

Please let me know what you think about this blog in the comments below! What strategies do you use to find supportive communities, or to overcome Impostor Syndrome in general?